Posted by: Stephlechef | May 27, 2013

Caprese salad

I’m back!! Have been ever so busy, but nearing the end of my course now, and finding that I have to re-find the will to do anything which isn’t work. Honestly, my first day off in weeks and weeks, I was so bored, because I didn’t know what it felt like to just not have anything to do. I’m sure I will figure it out during my extended summer holidays 🙂 And in the meantime, will get back to blogging!

This is one of my new favourite things to eat. As discussed, I am a very busy girly, and health kind of goes out of the window quite regularly. I am ashamed to say the McDonalds which is less than 5 minutes from my house sees me far more often than is acceptable. This isn’t exactly diet food, but it does make you feel good about yourself, and the world. And I think that makes it healthy enough. Delish.

Image

I know I am usually all about the basics/cheap-o brands, but buying better really does make a difference here. I used Basics mozzarella here as am on a budget (hasn’t life just suddenly got really expensive?), but it’s made from cow’s milk and really doesn’t do the trick. Buy lovely red tomatoes, and make sure to get them out of the fridge a couple of hours before you make this, it makes all the difference.

Slice the mozzarella and the tomatoes, thick/thin as you like, layer them up as you wish, sprinkle with salt and pepper (really does bring out the flavours), “clap” a couple of basil leaves (like you do with mint when you make a mojito) and scatter over the top. Drizzle olive oil over… and voila! Serve with bread, or as a side dish for meat, or on its own, or with pasta………..

A nice alternative if you were having it at a BBQ or something would be to use cherry tomatoes and mozzarella balls. Just sayin’……………

Leave a Reply

Categories

