Posted by: Stephlechef | January 1, 2013

Christmas dessert part 2 – raspberry meringue pie

So, it turns out my mum thought my beautiful opera cake was too rich. There is always one. So on boxing day I made an alternative dessert. (Also, I got a foodieperson blowtorch for Xmas, and really wanted to try it out on something!) Probably good, as we had a beef wellington from Sainsbury’s which was incredible… but ever so filling! This is a little lighter and less effort on the stomach. Plus, I made them teensy.

raspberry meringue 2

I made a basic shortcrust pastry recipe, and blind baked the pastry shells until completely cooked. Then I made this raspberry curd recipe here: http://www.foodista.com/recipe/TZ4WX8JZ/how-to-make-organic-raspberry-curd#s.adxb56upibiaa (but I made a half batch, which was plenty for 12 little tarts) and filled each case with a spoonful of curd. I then made a meringue which was ok, but not worth sharing (experimenting)… but I suggest making something like this Swiss meringue http://www.hub-uk.com/tallyrecip02/recipe0088.htm as the eggs in this are pretty much cooked once you’ve finished whisking, and you can afford to just blowtorch away. Which is exactly what I did. Go!

raspberry meringue

Leave a Reply

Categories

