Posted by: Stephlechef | July 27, 2012

Banana muffins

Don’t make these if you’re looking to make some light, fluffy, quality cake… but to get away with eating a muffin for breakfast they are fab, because they don’t have sugar in them 🙂 (let’s mention the sugar crystals I sprinkled on top later…) I found the recipe on mumsnet (not a site I peruse very often, but it came up on google) http://www.mumsnet.com/Recipes/i/3357-Healthy-banana-muffins-no-weighing-needed-egg-free, so I take no credit, but here’s my adaptations below 🙂 They’re also fab if you have overripe bananas to use up and can’t face eating them.

Breakfasty speedy banana muffins

Makes 4, takes 30 mins

1 tbsp butter

2 tbsp milk

1 tbsp honey

1 overripe banana

1/2 cup self-raising flour

pinch baking powder

1-2 tbsp raisins

drop vanilla essence

pinch cinnamon

my special sugar crystals! (see my post on chouquettes https://stephlechef.wordpress.com/2010/12/02/chouquettes/)

Put the honey, milk and butter in a bowl and melt in the microwave for 20 secs or so.

Mash in the banana and add the vanilla and cinnamon.

Mix in the flour, baking powder and raisins. The mixture does go strangely eggy even though there’s no egg in it… mystery!

Spoon into 4 muffin cases (I love my silicone ones!) (psst! here is where I sprinkled on some un-health in the form of prettifying and very satisfying sugar crystals)

Bake for 15-20 mins at 180c, until crispy on the top and still squidgy in the middle.

Leave a Reply

Categories

