Posted by: Stephlechef | January 23, 2012

Birthday “allotment” cake

So, my dad has an allotment. And therefore for his birthday, what better to make than an… allotment cake!! (By the way, I have decided I should stop googling things. I’ll come up with some idea or other that I think is creative, and then somehow I always end up google image-searching it, I don’t know why – to develop the idea or something – and then it inevitably turns out that someone has always done whatever it was I was planning already. And invariably better than I could ever hope to achieve [google “allotment cake” and you’ll see what I mean]. So no more googling, right?)

(Apologies for the crappy picture – complicated camera, sport mode. That’s all.)

 

The cake is carrot (what else?) found here http://uktv.co.uk/food/recipe/aid/528351

(The only change I made to it was that I did half as much icing again on top of what it says, i.e. 75g butter, and a little more icing sugar because I added green food colouring for the grass :))

Here’s a close-up of the icing vegetables. These took hours. I have never really attempted much with icing before. It’s fun… and sticky.

The hardest thing was trying to get orange- apparently what I learned in primary school about the mixing of colours is just not true. Red and yellow did not make orange. I ended up making the right colour from food colouring and just painting it straight on the carrots. And also, it turns out I have NO idea what tools look like. My trowel looks like a spoon. I think the others are fairly self-explanatory, I just kind of experimented to get them looking right. Maybe when I’ve got the method down, I’ll do a little masterclass-y blog. As if I am some sort of expert.

The perfect cake for any gardening fan 😀

Responses

  1. This is literally brilliant.

    • Aw yay! I don’t know why WordPress didn’t decide to tell me you wrote this, but thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

