Posted by: Stephlechef | January 12, 2012

Irish cream coffee cupcakes

These are inspired from my shiny new Lorraine Pascale cookbook, Baking Made Easy, which I got for Christmas!!! (I also got a book about macarons, but my first attempt at them was a big fat failure. So let’s just talk cupcakes for now :))

The recipe is for a whole cake, and it’s also to serve 8-10. Now, I halved the recipe, and made it into cupcakes, and it still made 8. So I’m not saying Lorraine’s portions are skewed, but she is an ex-model, and there is NO WAY she eats that much cake. Also, it is called “gluten-free” – because it uses gluten-free flour. I’m pretty sure that’s always an option. Anyway, here’s my version ūüôā

Irish cream coffee cupcakes

(Makes 8, total cost £1.80, 23p per cake)

100g soft light brown sugar

pinch salt

100g cold butter, cut into cubes (I think margarine might be better in this recipe, as the cake was a bit dense)

100g self-raising flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

drop of vanilla extract

40ml very strong black coffee (it’s handy hint time!! We don’t have instant coffee – so I’ve taken a couple of the mini sachets of instant Kenco stuff you get in hotels, and I use that for cakes :))
For the frosting:

60g butter

125g icing sugar (maybe a little more, as my icing was a bit runny)

drop of vanilla

1 tbsp Bailey’s (or a cheeky dash more :))

For the cakes, rub together the butter and the flour until breadcrumby, then mix in the sugar, baking powder and salt.

Add the eggs one at a time and beat until mixed in.

Stir in the vanilla and coffee.

Plonk in cake cases (I used my funky new silicone ones… but didn’t know if I should use paper ones too?)

Cook for about 15 minutes, until a skewer inserted into a cake (choose the least cooked one) comes out clean.

Cool the cake while you make the frosting.

For the frosting, soften the butter, then beat in all the other ingredients, adding more flour if it seems a little soft. Leave in the fridge until the butter has hardened back up. Then pipe (badly, in my case) onto the cakes.

To decorate, Lorraine suggests sprinkling coffee granules over the top. Well, it looks nice, but it’s horribly bitter. I would say, grind up the coffee granules in a pestle and mortar, then stir in a pinch of icing sugar too. (It will dissolve, but will hopefully sweeten the very bitter coffee taste)… or get these¬†http://www.mojoescafe.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/chocolate-coffee-beans.jpg¬†(I haven’t tried them, but they look cool :))

Leave a Reply

Categories

