Posted by: Stephlechef | November 3, 2011

Pain d’epi

Or, pain de not-very-pointy epi. Saw this on Lorraine Pascale (again). She is getting a lotta hate on the internet. I don’t know why. I think she’s good. Also, this recipe works, so woop 🙂 I couldn’t figure out a way of making my oven “steamy”, but it doesn’t seem to have been too detrimental to my bread, which was very nice.

Grgrgrgrgr, stupid WordPress just didn’t save a whole load of bloggage I did, so I am writing this again. Angry face.

Right so. Calm.

Pain d’epi (aka I might speak French, but I don’t know what this means…)

Makes 6 roll-type bits, so let’s say serves 6. Total cost 36p, so 6p per roll (and just imagine, if it looked a little bit more authentic, how much this would go for in a shop…)

275g white bread flour

1 tbsp olive oil

175ml warm water

7g yeast

1 tsp salt (and a bit more for sprinkling)

Mix all the ingredients together (make sure the water is lukewarm) until it forms a ball.

Knead on a floured surface until smooth and springy. (Mine was a bit sticky so I added more flour)

Roll into a baguette shape (only as long as your oven allows, mind!) and place on a tray. Cover lightly with oiled clingfilm and leave to rise in a warm place for about an hour, or until doubled in size.

Then you need to get cutting. I apologise for this picture, it was the easiest way of explaining it. The first time I wrote this, I said something about how I was apologising before I even drew it. This time it is post-drawing apologies. Cut where the dotted lines are.

Hahahaha oh god. So there you go, cut diagonal lines like that, and place each blob of dough that is in your non-scissor holding hand (make sure you don’t cut all the way down and cut it off!) to alternate sides of the main bit, so that it looks (a little bit) like a wheat stalk.

Then sprinkle over some more salt, and spray with olive oil 1cal spray, and cook at 200c (Lorraine says in a steamy oven) for about 30 minutes. Bread should sound hollow-ish when you tap its bottom, that’s how you know it’s done.

And then eat it 🙂

Responses

  1. To make a steamy oven, Pop a baking tray at the bottom of the oven with water in it. I don’t really know what it does though, maybe stops it drying out.

    • I did do that, you know. But I was expecting the water to boil and it didn’t. So perhaps I DID make a steamy oven, and didn’t know. I got bored of waiting. Nah she said that the steam helps it rise quick before the crust forms… fun.

      • Did it not. When I did it I think there were bubbles and steam. Ahh, that’s quite clever then. I shall remember that.

      • What did you need a steamy oven for?

  2. Choux Pastry


Leave a Reply

Categories

