Posted by: Stephlechef | October 21, 2011

Apple cinnamon cake (or Back to the Seventies)

My family has this book. Meaning, everyone in my family seems to have a copy of this book. You might call it the family bible. It has in it all the “standard” recipes that we use- “the” bolognese recipe, “the” chilli recipe, etc. And so when I found a copy of it in a charity shop it has to be snapped up. It is actually hilariously aged, it was first published in 1976 and as such, the photos are faded and a bit sad, and being a “freezer” cookery book, it has some rather ridiculous suggestions like freezing batches of savoury butters. You know, for when the need for savoury butter just grabs you? No? Well… Anyway it’s a good little book, and apart from 43 pages of advice on “how to freeze food”, it has some good little recipes. I have been thinking about challenging myself to work my way through the whole book and make all the recipes… but I have a lot of projects on at the moment so we’ll see how that goes 🙂

So, my first attempt on this new 70’s-inspired cooking mission was apple cake. And it was alright, but it would have been better, I expect, if I had made the effort to buy the right apples. So I shall give the original recipe, rather than my slightly dry version. Lovely with a bit of custard. Also, it’s not a looker. Sorry about that. This is the olden days, people, but on the bright side, it is an absolutely peasy “bish bash bosh” recipe.

Apple cake (from St Michael All Colour (oh yeah baby) Freezer Cookery Book)

(Serves 8: Total cost ÂŁ2.30, per portion 29p)

275g self-raising flour

5ml salt

2.5ml ground cinnamon (I did lots more)

1.25ml ground cloves (didn’t have any)

125g butter

225g caster sugar

1 egg

5ml vanilla essence

350g cooking apples, grated

To top:

Honey

Toasted flaked almonds (I used toasted bits of hazelnut)

Plonk the oven on to 180c, and grease an 18cm square cake tin (I used a circle-y one)

Sift the flour with the salt and spices.

Cream the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Gradually beat in the egg and vanilla essence.

Stir in the grated apple and gradually fold in the flour.

Turn into the tin, smooth the top and cook for 1 – 1 1/4 hours until cooked.

Put on a wire rack to cool.

Brush the top with honey and sprinkle with nuts. Done!

Responses

  1. Looks 4, well it was a bit sad. taste 7, lovely with a cup of tea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

