Posted by: Stephlechef | October 19, 2011

Macarons! (a first attempt)

I suppose a macaron post is kind of an obligatory/rite of passage thing for a food blogger. And so there really is very little point in my posting a recipe that I’ve stolen from someone else. But for info, this is the post I used: http://www.takeamegabite.com/?p=1089 (a blog which I have now bookmarked, as I like the normal-ness of things made). 🙂 Also, it was handy for me as I don’t own electronic scales and therefore cannot possibly follow the advice of many of these recipes which call for the likes of 28g of egg white. I used 1/3 of the amounts in this recipe (1 oz ground almonds, 1/2 cup icing sugar etc) and it made 8 macarons (17 half pieces)… which is plenty if you’re not sure how it’s going to go!!! They aren’t that expensive to try out, and according to my budget making this batch cost £1.10, so about 14p per macaron. This would obviously change if you added posher/more colours/flavours.

I think I shall post my advice on macaron-making when I’ve tried out a few more batches, these look pretty good imo (far fro profesh, but alright) but were a little overcooked and crispy I think… but for now here’s a few pictures 🙂

The (vanilla) macarons when they came out of the oven.

And here they are sandwiched with some coffee flavoured buttercream… mmmmmmmmmm

Edit: William suggested that, having had fair success at this first attempt, I should never ever make them again, to avoid the disappointment of them ever going wrong. Unfortunately I did not listen to this advice, and my second batch didn’t get past the meringue stage, my third batch went into the oven, undercooked, didn’t rise and tasted like Calpol. So my advice would be- just make one batch. And if you’re a quitter like me, never make them again 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

