Posted by: Stephlechef | September 24, 2011

Let’s make chutney!

This week I actually cooked something from a free supermarket magazine, which I usually pick up and promptly plonk in the cupboard. But there was a recipe for “Fruity Chutney” with a picture of lovely crusty bread, blue cheese and a dollop of this chutney- and so I embarked on the vinegar mission.


If you’re going to make this, do it on a day when you can have all the windows open. Don’t not open them. Because I did. And after an hour and a half of simmering vinegar in my kitchen (of which the door is always open into the living room), I was feeling really ill. Heady and really odd. And I only realised when I had been out and come back that it was the stinky vinegar all around the flat. So OPEN the windows. I can’t actually endorse the recipe yet, as it says to leave the chutney for a month to let it get all nice and mature, so I haven’t tried it yet. I might update later on with the result, but until then this is the recipe. Ta, Morrys.

Apple and Pear Chutney adapted from Morrisons autumn 2011 magazine

Makes about 4 (small) jars full

500g apples

800g pears (hint- buy big ones, because it’s less peeling. I had small value apples and pears, and oh my goodness. LOTS of peeling)

4cm piece fresh root ginger, peeled and grated

100g dried apricots, quartered

150g sultanas

400g demerara sugar

500ml cider vinegar

1tbsp wholegrain mustard

1tsp ground cinnamon

Peel the apples and pears and take out the core, then cut into bite-sized pieces (they do get smaller so don’t faff around making them tiny)

Put all the ingredients in a pan and heat the mixture gently, stirring until the sugar dissolves.

Open the windows. Breathe fresh air for the last time.

Simmer VERY gently for 1h30 until it is thick and syrupy. Leave to cool.

Sterilise some jars (if you don’t buy fancy ones off the internet/steal them from the rents/collect old ones, my idea is to buy value jam from the supermarket and just don’t use the jam. Not that I’m advocating waste, but it’s 30p a jar…). Wash and dry them, then put them in the oven at 140 degrees for about half an hour, and fill them while still warm.

Cover the top with cling film, then the lid (once it’s properly cool) and put a pretty circle of fabric on the top, if you are that way inclined.

It suggests leaving it for a month to mature before eating, although I don’t know if I’ll last that long. And it should keep for 6 months in a cool dark place. At the moment, mine are on the kitchen side. Woops.

Leave a Reply

Categories

