Posted by: Stephlechef | August 7, 2011

Cooking up a storm!

So yesterday I went a bit mental and made 7 separate dishes. This all started because I have been up-and-down ill for about two and a half weeks now, and I am beginning to think it’s down to stress rather than something I ate. After all, everything I eat is great! Anyway, so I had a look on the advice website of the company whose building I work in (I assume, as I am not employed by the company I am not allowed to use said site, but never mind)… and it said that to de-stress, you shouldn’t just plonk yourself in front of the TV in your free time (woops) but do something creative that occupies you. As in, to take your mind off why you’re stressed. Sooooo. I didn’t actually do very much creating, as I don’t have a lot of time and there were a ton of recipes (accidentally stumbled upon while planning work’s networky Christmas party and using Tastespotting for inspiration) that I wanted to try… and as I have a penchant for anything in miniature I thought well, even if there’s only two of us eating we can eat lots of mini things… so I made… this!

I maaaaade:

Petits pots au chocolat with crème fraîche (and a decorative strawberry)

Mini banana choc chip muffins (which William doesn’t like. I think just because he knows there’s banana in there)

Mini strawberry shortbreads with crème pâtissière

Individual chicken pies with homemade pastry (I know it’s not the season for it but I like making pastry)

Chicken wraps (I don’t know what they’re called but they’re kinda like coronation chicken)

Teeny turkey meatballs with spicy tomato sauce and pitta fingers

Potato latkes with crème fraîche and smoked salmon

aaaaand Sangria!

Awesome, huh? Obviously I kind of forgot about the whole “not stressing” thing as the level of organisation getting this lot done before dinner and ready at the same time was quite high. But I had FUN. Also, I ate a LOT, Will ate MORE than a lot, and I think the French phrase “crise de foie” really has a place here. Oh well. Yum. I might put the recipes up in due course, but like I say, I didn’t invent them. What shall I make next week? That shall occupy me while on my 3 hour daily commute………………………………………………………..

Leave a Reply

Categories

