Posted by: Stephlechef | December 3, 2010

Very hot jam

I didn’t make jam. I did, however make cranberry mince pies. Which were rather good.

(Recipe from one of the supermarkets’ magazines. But I don’t know which.)

(Most) photo credz to Joel.

Ingredients (to make about 10)

Pastry:

150g flour

85g butter

1 tbsp caster sugar

(It says 1 egg yolk, but I forgot, so it’s clearly not that important :))

Cold water.

Filling:

75g cranberries (currently on offer in Morrisons and can be frozen ;))

35g caster sugar (I thought this was too much, it was a bit sweet)

1 tbsp water

200g mincemeat

2tbsp alcohol (it specifies brandy, however I don’t have brandy, and my mincemeat already does. Secondly, the last ingredient was ‘grated marzipan’, but I didn’t have any and it’s oh-so-snowy outside. Anyway, long story short… Disaronno tastes like marzipan. So I added a splash of that.)

To make the pastry, rub the flour and butter together until it’s breadcrumby. Add the sugar and mix in enough water (and the egg, if you aren’t me) to make… well, pastry.

Chill, wrapped in something, in the freezer for 15 mins.

Meanwhile, put the cranberries, sugar and water in a pan and boil until the cranberries are soft.

Mix in the mincemeat and booze.

Roll out the pastry and make circles, put in a fairy cake tin.

Then make lids or stars for the top.

Fill the bottoms with the mincemeat (not too deep, cause mine boiled over), stick the lids on.

Brush with milk if you have a pastry brush.

Cook, at a cooler temperature than I did (Gas mark 7- I was hungry) until they’re golden brown. 🙂 (If it’s too hot, the jamminess of the centre burns)

And then eat them 🙂

Responses

  1. […] Approx 200g/1 batch shortcrust pastry (you can find my recipe for pastry here: https://stephlechef.wordpress.com/2010/12/03/very-hot-jam/) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

