Posted by: Stephlechef | September 12, 2010

Mine, not Reese’s

My first recipe, and as a fun little coincidence the person that got me addicted to these is the person that told me to do a blog, so this one is for Meghan 🙂

Reese’s are nice. And you can buy them in England. But you can’t buy many and they’re not very cheap. So make your own! (Unless you’re on a diet, in which case settle for them being few and expensive, because these really don’t hold back on things that are bad for you)

So, what you do is…

Get a whole jar of peanut butter (a 340g jar of smooth, I can’t imagine you’d want it crunchy)

60g butter (just to add to the buttery goodness)

250g icing sugar

200g plain chocolate

Easy peasy recipe:

1. Melt the butter and the peanut butter (together) in the microwave in a big bowl.

2. Stir in the icing sugar until it’s all mixed in (it gets very stiff (ooh-err)). (However, don’t do the sugar part while sitting in the living room watching Come Dine With Me, because we all know the clouds that icing sugar likes to make)

3. Mash it all down into a tin. I used a circular one but that’s because I don’t have a square one, also my circle one has a loose bottom (teehee). Also because I am a genius I laid it on cling film in the tray, which, although giving it a wrinkly bottom in addition to a loose one, makes it much easier to get it out.

4. Put it in the fridge for a bit. Until it’s hard. Mine didn’t take long, but my fridge likes to freeze things.

5. Melt the chocolate in the microwave (SLOWLY) and spread it over the peanut butteryness. (After having taken it out of the fridge, claro)

6. Put it back in the fridge and hope for the best.

7. When it’s nearly set take it out (and out of the tin if you’ve made a nifty device like I did) and you should have something that looks like this.

(this artistic look comes from drawing lines on it with a knife. Jealous.)

8. Then cut your future cellulite into tasty SMALL (it is very sweet) squares/parts of circle if you used my tin.

9. Then eat it, and use it to appease/thank boyfriend’s parents when you visit them in their already full house and demand food.

10. Done 🙂

(and because I am a little bit obsessive and like to know how much things cost per portion, I can tell you that if you make 60 squares out of this lot as I did, they cost around 5p each (obviously dependent on where you shop). Bargain!)

(Should I reference where I found these recipes? Cause it’s kind of a compilation (and translation into English measurements) of loads of different ones… :/)

Leave a Reply

Categories

